Blitz 2K12 Gets A Very Belle & Sebastian Slogan [Video]

Spend 15 hours behind the wheel of a car, powered by nothing more than McDonalds, four bottles of Vitamin Water, and White Castle for dinner and you’ll come up with some ideas that will leave you scratching your head, like:

  • I should totally learn how to throw a Knuckleball and try out for an independent minor league ball team. Admittedly, I’ve had this one before but it made a strong comeback during the ride.
  • If switching to a sweater vest propelled Rick Santorum to near victory in Iowa, what could it do for me?
  • What does it say about my life if I want to claim Mr. November by The National as my theme song?
  • The Book Blitz needs a slogan!
Hands down, the best purchase I ever made in Peoria - Via Dandyshirts.net

Hey, that last one is pretty reasonable! Of course, as I drove along the surprisingly blue coast of Lake Erie between Buffalo and the Pennsylvania state line, I was listening to the Giants-Falcons game. As it went into the half, I switched over to a road trip CD I made a few years back. One of the first songs to come on was “Wrapped Up In Books” by Belle and Sebastian. Eureka! Just past the two-minute mark, Blitz 2K12’s slogan came over the speakers:

Our aspirations are wrapped up in books/Our inclinations are hidden in books.

And there it is. While there are some meanings in there that The Composite might try to unpack down the road, it is particularly fitting since I’m a proud owner of a Belle and Sebastian t-shirt that reads, “I’m a B & S Bookworm/Belle and Sebastian Scholastic Services.” I’m going to tweet this post at Belle and Sebastian’s official twitter handle and, who knows, maybe they’ll get a kick out of this.

In the meantime, here is the video to Belle and Sebastian’s “Wrapped Up In Books.” And below that is an update on where Blitz 2K12 stands in the race for 100.

Books Read & Blogged About

Train Dreams by Denis Johnson
The Boy in The Moon by Ian Brown
Taller When Prone by Les Murray
Chango’s Beads and Two-Tone Shoes by William Kennedy
Space, in Chains by Laura Kasischke

Books That Have Been Read, But Not Blogged About

Who’s Afraid of Post-Blackness by Touré
To A Mountain In Tibet by Colin Thubron
Midnight Rising by Tony Horwitz
Believing is Seeing by Errol Morris
The Cat’s Table by Michael Ondaatje
The Buddha in the Attic by Julie Otsuka

Currently Reading

My New American Life by Francine Prose

In The Queue

Pauline Kael by Brian Kellow
To End All Wars By Adam Hochschild

Leave a Reply

